The Plainness of the World, I Guess

The Plainness of the World

Christopher S. Rozema
I should have pulled you down the moon to make our love upon

So that the stars would envy us our passion.
But I didn’t.

God, our hearts pumped blood back then.

Not all this vitriol & hate

And there was the ground

beneath your feet I could not worship:

No weight could bring you down

Despite your certain gravity even envied by the galaxy

which kept us pulling back into each other explosively for more
There is the plainness of the world I guess,

The getting on through days.

The memories of unrepentant joys irrevocably past.

And that is what I’m left with.

My sense of self

-forever more,

Will be defined by the memory of your embrace.
There was no ground beneath your feet back then or else I would have worshipped it

No weight could bring you down

But somehow it was I who did
And that is what I’m left with;
The unrepentant memory of joys irrevocably passed
Below but not beneath us lie the embers of the city

Just now

the masters all

are up flirting with the rooftop wind

And the stars just then fall one by faintly one from out the sky

And flags gust ripping at the empty wind
I should have pulled you down the moon to make our love upon

Then even the most distant stars would envy us our passion

(the only true romance is sad & cold & distant)

But I didn’t

I should have laid you down on wine & bread & blankets

So the waves would sing to us alone and the wind would forever moan our names

But I just didn’t
And that is what I’m what left with –

I almost cannot bear to see the springtime world play

The joyful noise of jays’ wings, chickadees and finches feeding.

It’s the emptied husks of seeds the robins drop that hurt the most

Spent things –

used to be so full of life

have served their purpose

and are so then cast delightfully away.

The smiling faces flitter, then, to higher branches.
And I would rip the skin from off my back to bring a smile to your face

I would die to feed you once

To give you life for one more day

But work and school and mortgages and child-rearing somehow got in the way.

Leave a Reply

